Press Releases Bios Hall of Fame


Canterbury Park has a long history of drawing some of the best jockeys & trainers from around the midwest. Below, you'll find short biographies of top trainers and jockeys from last season as well as Canterbury's top five trainers and jockeys of all-time. All rankings are done by number of wins.





 2014 Leading Jockeys                                                       2014 Leading Trainers  



    ry eikleberry


Ry Eikleberry won his first riding title at Canterbury. He won 64 races and $1.18 million in purses.


robertino diodoro

Robertino Diodoro won his first Canterbury training title in 2014. He won with 50 of 221 starters.


Dean butler

Dean Butler was second in the rider standings.

mac robertson

Mac Robertson, a Canterbury Hall of Fame member, finished second in the trainer standings.

stormy smith

Stormy Smith won his first quarter horse riding title at Canterbury Park.


Bernell Rhone

Bernell Rhone continued his reign amongst the top five leading trainers at Canterbury Park. He has now ranked among the meet leaders for 19 of the last 21 meets.


 alex canchari

Alex Canchari finished the meet with 63 wins, tied for second with Dean Butler.


ed ross hardy

Ed Ross Hardy won his 11th quarter horse training title at Canterbury.



jorge torres

Jorge Torres finished second in the quarter horse rider standings, winning with 15 of 52 mounts.




Stacy Charette-Hill  finished second in the quarter horse trainer standings winning with 16 of 75 starters.



Canterbury Park All-time leading jockeys & trainers


 All-Time Leading Jockeys                                                 All-Time Leading Trainers 




Derek Bell is Canterbury's all-time leading rider. A six-time riding champion, Bell currently owns many of Canterbury's jockey records including wins and earnings.


Bernell Rhone brought the first horse onto Canterbury's grounds in 1985. He has continued to race at the Shakopee oval each summer. He is the winningest trainer in Canterbury history.


Scott Stevens

Canterbury Hall of Fame Jockey Scott Stevens has started more races than any other jockey in Canterbury history and he ranks second in all-time wins in Shakopee.

Doug Oliver

Doug Oliver won three consecutive training titles at Canterbury between 1999 and 2001. Additionally, he had multiple successful summers in the late 1980s and early 1990s prior to the track's closure and is the fourth winningest trainer in the track's history.


Paul Nolan ranks third all-time in wins at Canterbury Park with 669. Nolan has persevered through multiple injuries to record more than 1,000 lifetime wins.

Mike Biehler

Mike Biehler ranks  third in all-time wins and third in starts at Canterbury. Additionally, he captured the 1992 leading trainer title and has consistently ranked among the top 5.


Luis Quinonez owned the early days of Canterbury Park. He won the first five riding titles in Canterbury Park history (1995 - 1999).

David van winkle

David Van Winkle took Canterbury Park by storm when it reopened in 1995. He won with 30 of 86 starters that summer which translated to a 35% win percentage.


The late Dean Kutz is likely the most courageous jockey in Canterbury history having fought cancer to ride. He still holds the record for wins in a single season with 158 in 1987.


Mac robertson

Mac Robertson was the leading thoroughbred trainer at Canterbury Park for the nine seasons, 2005-2013. He was inducted into the Canterbury Park Hall of Fame in 2010.